Platform Arts Studio: Lee House (2014)

To say painting is tricky is too obvious to some and I can well understand why many others regard this particular audacity as an ill-advised activity. I take note that finishing a painting is way different from the painting being finished with me. This conundrum plays mischievously with the notion of desire and may yet have the upper hand. For instance: the three paintings shown above are works in progress, photographs made to fix the moment when the appearance of ‘being complete’ is compelling. It matters very little to me that these three paintings no longer exist as physical objects. It matters more for me to know that, four weeks later, when I looked again at this work they came across as vacuous. Something of significance was all too obviously missing. Next time…

Leave a comment